Ready or Not, We Open for Business

In Spain, you can spend a lifetime waiting for things to happen. It took more than half a year of waiting, for example, to get my residency, but, apparently, that’s considered a really quick turnaround. Therefore, I was naturally worried about how long it would take to get the lease and papers for the business. Not having the papers was fine in the beginning since we had to close AlteArte for a while anyway to rebuild the staircase and add our own special touches to the business. But when the business was ready to go and the papers weren’t, it became a problem. And when the month of February drew to a close and we were still waiting for the lease to go back and forth between the landlord’s lawyer and ours (who just happens to be the brother of our old landlord in Torrevieja), we decided that we simply couldn’t afford to wait any longer. In Spain, sometimes you just have to stop waiting and start doing.

So, at the last minute, we made plans to open the last weekend of February. Never mind that we hadn’t yet signed a lease or that we technically had no legal right to operate the business. Pepe, the owner, had paid February’s rent and had amazingly handed us over the keys at the beginning of February to do with the business what we wanted. So we figured we might as well try to make some money the last weekend of the month.

But, before opening to the public, we wanted to hold a private event – a party where David’s family and Pepe’s family could see the end result of nearly a month of hard work. So, with only two days notice, we started spreading the word. David’s dad was working and couldn’t come but David’s stepmom and her best friend would be able to drive up to Altea. We were fortunate that David’s mom, Luisa, was visiting from Paris that week so she could be there. And Pepe told his parents about it.

But as Friday, the day of the private party, rapidly approached, I started realizing that it wasn’t just the papers that weren’t ready. I wasn’t either! I had been so concentrated on getting the business up to par that I had forgotten about myself. If I was going to be serving customers and taking orders, I, too, needed to know what I was doing. And not only did I feel that my Spanish was still very elementary but my knowledge of Spanish drinks was almost nil. I had heard the term cuba libra tossed around but the shelves of alcohol were downright intimidating.

Desperately, I started asking David to teach me, but there was no time. It just wasn’t possible to learn everything I needed to know in such a short time. Before we knew it, Friday inevitably arrived and so did our guests. But, fortunately, Luisa was there, and she gallantly took control even to the point that we left her to man the bar while David and I mingled. And while Pepe’s dad gave wise business advice to David (Pepe’s parents are the owners of Hotel St. Miguel, a very established hotel and restaurant here with the best paella), Pepe’s mom talked to me about her past as an English teacher. And just when it seemed like it couldn’t get any nicer, Pepe’s mom presented me with a beautiful necklace to remind me of this evening and Pepe’s dad told us that he was offering us the 100+ year old mirror that we had bought from Pepe but that we still owed him money for.

And I was deeply touched and felt in my heart that there couldn’t be a better way to kickoff our little business than with this perfect evening among such genuinely kind people.

Nevertheless, when Saturday arrived, I was still very nervous, yet comforted myself with the thought that most likely business would be slow. After all, we had done no advertising, and, by that point, the business had been closed for nearly a month. Opening without publicity would give me a good chance to practice and learn the ropes a bit before things got too busy. And, since we didn’t yet have a lease or our official business papers, we couldn’t order from any of the providers and only had the supplies that Pepe had leftover in the stockroom so it was better if we didn’t have too many people in the beginning.

We prepared for the opening and, mere hours before opening the doors, Amparo, Pepe’s girlfriend, gave me a crash course in drink making. The only problem was that it was all very rapidly covered – in Spanish. And I grabbed for my notepad and starting jotting down notes – the most popular drinks, which glasses to use, when to put lemon or lime. And, by the end, I was entirely overwhelmed and really not sure wether I was ready for even one customer. But I had no choice. Now that our little business was ready to go, we really couldn’t afford to wait any longer – for the papers or for me. So on Saturday, February 28th, we opened for business.

And we waited anxiously to see if anyone would come in.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

12 responses to “Ready or Not, We Open for Business

  1. Wow~~

    You did it!!! So much work and time!!! How did you find the time and energy to write this new blog so soon?

    Anyway we are VERY impressed. And the pictures are great!!!

  2. so amazing, so exciting, you’re living your dream!

  3. Oh yay, I am so psyched for you. How awesome. I can’t wait to hear how it is all going and if business is good. How is your Spanish coming along? I can’t wait to see more pictures.

  4. WOW! Congrats! We are so thinking of you guys! Hang in there- the best is yet to come… one day at a time:):) I can’t wait to get more updates.

  5. Congratulations on wading through the bureaucracy of setting up a small business in Spain – most don’t even get that far!!

  6. David, the hubby

    Definitely overwhelming, but in the end, Sara is getting along so well with people, that she might become a big asset in Altearte. People live Sara, she has so much to say, that people get along the bar for hours to talk to her. People’s response is very positive. And on top of that, she managed to take orders like a local!!!

  7. Well Sara, I am so glad to see the day finally arrived and your vision of life in Spain has become real! I am so excited and proud of you!!! Looking forward to hearing more about this great new adventure.

  8. AWESOME!!! Congratulations Sara and David! and I’m sure Sara’s conversation skills are top-notch. Who cares about the drinks…as long as there’s alcohol in there. 🙂 That’s so exciting!! Can’t wait to be sitting at the bar while you make me Caipirinhas!! mmmm…. learn that one, Sara!

  9. Woo-hoo! I’m so happy for you guys!!! Boca luppo from one who’s dealing with taking-forever-to-get-things-done in Italy!

  10. Thank you! How happy I would be if you could all see it in person! But I’m happy that I can at least share it with you in this way.

    Beth, if we can build nearly as successful a business as you and Jeff have done with The Daily Rise, I would be thrilled.

    Niki, we actually have Caipirinhas on the menu, but don’t ask me to make you one. I have no clue! 😉

    Ana, I’m thinking of you as you encounter quite a different kind of adventure of your own!

  11. Hey Sara and David! I found your blog again in google (5 minutes) Today is pepas birthday, its also the first day we open our shop! I will be coming by and rapture Sara to proudly present…

    Since its Pepas birthday I think its a good idea to come and see you guys later, I am talking Nadia into having a drink with us so we might just show up the 3 of us.

    You are doing a GREAT job here in Altea and I officially admit that Sara is my favorite camarera.

    BIG kisss

    • Warner, I’m so glad that you, Nadia and Pepa came to celebrate Pepa’s birthday! Everyone, Warner is THE Warner from my “We’re in Business” blog post. He’s fantastic! I’m thinking of you in Morocco and can’t wait to see the store after you get back!

Leave a Reply

